Bench running ignition engines

An open forum to ask members questions about old time spark ignition engines.

Moderators: Frank Klenk, SteveM

Bench running ignition engines

Postby sportpilot » Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:43 am

I am new to vintage engines, but I have started a nice sized collection. I aquired a never run vivell 35. I have made and stained a test stand for it. I am trying to run it, and have come to the conclusion that my batteries can't take the load that the points put on them. I put a volt meter across the battery, and after three rpm the voltage goes down to 1.4 volts, and the engine quits (no good). My question is what is everyone using for a battery to bench run an engine. Big dry cells from the 40's and 50's are no longer available.
sportpilot

Postby chiefss » Tue Sep 07, 2010 11:32 am

If your Vivell is new, running it will devalue it by a large amount. If you are a collector you should never run a new engine.
chiefss

bench running

Postby sportpilot » Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:03 pm

Ya you have some truth to your statement, I have some used O&R's.
sportpilot

Postby chiefss » Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:37 pm

More than just "some" truth". It's always true. New and unrun is always worth more than used.
chiefss

Postby Jim Kraft » Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:23 pm

Yes; But you can't put a price on the fun you can have running a new in box engine. I have done a couple and smiled for a week. Then I figure they are used and put them in a plane and fly them. Then I smile again. They are nice to look at, but they were built to fly planes. Just my 2 cents.
Jim Kraft

Postby chiefss » Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:41 pm

You can have just as much fun running a used engine and not devaluing it by running it. As a matter of fact you could sell the NIB engine and buy a used one then have a bunch of money left over for other "fun" stuff.

I suppose you get a kick out of taking an uncirculated 20 dollar gold coin and spending it after you cleaned it with rubbing compound.
chiefss