Fuel for spark motors.

An open forum to ask members questions about old time spark ignition engines.

Moderators: Frank Klenk, SteveM

Fuel for spark motors.

Postby Smokin » Sun Jan 16, 2005 1:23 am

Hi Can I use unleaded petrol with spark motors or what, as i'm new to this side of modeling. The oil may be so trouble as I have read the other wrigth ups. Thanks.
Smokin

Postby loucrane » Sat Jan 29, 2005 4:07 pm

Smokin',

Preferably not. Unleaded auto gasoline (USA for petrol) has many additives - there as well, I'm pretty sure. We have a gasoline campstove fuel that works pretty well - Coleman. Don't know if it is also available in your area.

Spark engines also run well, likely more simply, too, on glow fuel. Of course, the heat content is much less, so the gasoline, er, petrol advantage in fuel economy is forfeit.

Surely there are auto or motorcycle racers in NZ? Good heavy oil -- in USA standards: SAE 70 (single weight) racing oil -- can be found with a bit of effort at shops that cater to the 4- and 2-wheel racing folks. Gear or axle lubricants of similar 'weight' are unsuitable, however.

Regret it's taken so long for anyone to respond...
loucrane

Spark Engines

Postby Smokin » Tue Feb 01, 2005 2:49 am

Loucrane, Hi When you say a camp stove fuel is the white spirts or methelated spirts? as for the oil have come across some SAE 70 so we are on the way and what is the mix how much to what ?? Thanks.
Smokin

Fuel

Postby max hansen » Tue Feb 01, 2005 7:25 pm

Not sure what your stove fuel is but we called it white gas up here.& the mix was 3 parts gas to one of oil . Should go ! MAX H.
max hansen

Fuel for Spark motors

Postby Ted Hatton » Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:07 pm

Hi there ,
The New Zealand equivalent was sold as 'Shellite". Don't know if it is still around. Try calling Shell Oil Co. I use 2stroke Motor cycle oil for lube,
3 : 1 mix.
Regards Ted Hatton, Matakana N.Z.
Ted Hatton

Postby viking61 » Sun Jul 31, 2005 7:39 am